Warrnambool Senior Amateur

21 - 22 November 2017

The Norton Motor Group Warrnambool Senior Amateur will be played over 36 holes stroke (Men) and stableford (women) play at Warrnambool Golf Club. The event is part of the Victorian Men's & Women's Senior Order of Merit and will comprise of gross/nett trophies for men and stableford/stableford trophies for women.

Player Information

Date: Tuesday 21 November - Wednesday 22 November 2017
Venue: Warrnambool Golf Club
Format: 36-Hole Stroke (Men), 36-Hole Stableford (Women) - scratch & nett
Age Limit: 55 and above as of 21 November 2017 GA Handicap Limit: 24.4 (Men), 45.4 (Women) at date of entry
Entry Fee: $97 (Non-Warrnambool Members & $72 Warrnambool Members)
- inc. GST & $2 charity donation
Inclusions: Lunch Pack (Rd 1), Tournament Dinner (Tues), Snacks/Finger Food (rd 2)
Entries Close: 5:00pm Wednesday 8 November
Entries Open: Monday 18 September

Event Organiser: Tim Witherow (Golf Events Coordinator)
E-mail: tim.witherow@golfvic.org.au
Phone: (03) 8545 6229

- Version 2: 20/11/2017

To view round 2 seeded draw click here

Click here for tournament dinner list


News & Results


CHAMPIONSHIP LEADERBOARDS: To view either Women's or Men's Gross & Nett leaderboards, click the 'class' options at the top right of the leaderboard.

Photo Gallery

Round 2 - Wednesday 22 November

2017 Winners
L-R: Helen Pascoe, Chris Keeshan, Kym Olsen, Vicki Johnstone

Players hit off at 8:30am this morning for the final round of the 2017 Warrnambool Senior Amateur on another spectacular day of warm weather and sunshine.

Both Kym Olsen of The National and Buninyong’s Helen Pascoe capitalised on their overnight leads to finish on top of the respective men’s and women’s leaderboards. Olsen carded a highly impressive 68 today to finish 6 under for the tournament and 13 shots clear of Ian Frost (Bendigo GC). Pascoe finished with 54 scratch stableford points and rounded out another outstanding year in the order of merit. Sue Dawes (Yarrawonga Mulwala GC) was the next best with 49 scratch points.

The nett section was won by Chris Keeshan of Centenary Park with an excellent score of nett 138. The runner-up was George Kotaridis who finished with nett 142 and recorded his first ever hole-in-one today on the 9th hole.

Coming in with the best stableford total for the second year running was local Vicki Johnstone, who carded two consistent rounds of 34 points for 68 points total.

Warrnambool marked the end of the 2017 Victorian Women’s Senior Order of Merit calendar, with presentations to take place on Thursday evening. Players will travel to Port Fairy Golf Club tomorrow for the 2017 Moyne Senior Classic. This will be the first event for the 2018 women’s calendar, and sets up for an exciting race to the finish as the last event on the 2017 men’s senior calendar.

Round 1 - Tuesday 21 November

Round 1
Ian Frost putting on the 18th green

Round one of the 2017 Warrnambool Senior Amateur commenced this afternoon on a beautiful 30 degree day. 78 players took to the course in brilliant sunshine and a mild breeze which was a pleasant contrast from the strong winds that usually gust along the Shipwreck Coast.

This is the final event on the Women’s Senior Order of Merit Calendar with players vying for the end of season trophies to be presented at the Moyne Senior Classic on Thursday evening at Port Fairy Golf Club. Helen Pascoe of Buninyong is currently leading the Scratch Senior Order of Merit and recorded the best score of 31 scratch points today. Sue Dawes of Yarrawonga Mulwala GC finished with the next best score and trails by 3 points.

In the women’s stableford competition, it was those with local knowledge that returned the best scores. Vicki Johnstone (Port Fairy GC) played off a daily handicap of 11 and finished with 34 points. Johnstone is sitting 1 shot clear of Beryl Drake (Warrnambool GC) who finished with 33 points off a daily handicap of 18.

Kym Olsen is leading the men’s field with a super score of 2 under par 70. The National Golf Club member is 4 strokes clear of Ray Walker from Gardiners Run. Jeff Hasthorpe (Trafalgar) and Guy Krall (The National) are a further shot back on 75.

The men’s nett competition is wide open heading into round 2 tomorrow as many players returned excellent scores. Ray Walker, Chris Keeshan (Centenary Park GC), Robert Ryan (Ballarat GC) and Tony Briers (The National GC) all finished with nett 70.

Warrnambool will be hosting a dinner at the club tonight before the second and final round starting at 8:30am tomorrow morning.

16 October 2018
On Episode 65, we talk Leish, Lucas and the LPGA before welcoming Jan Stephenson and Harrison Endycott to the show. Mark Hayesy is joined by Jo ... Read more
16 October 2018
After a successful week in Argentina, Karl Vilips and Grace Kim will be heading home from the 2018 Youth Olympics with two gold medals. Read more
17 October 2018
HUNTINGDALE: Women: Stroke: Medal of Medallists: F Gozzo (19) 76. Trophy: L Crowe bt M Clarke 3-2. M Batrouney bt B Yang 6-5. Stableford: M Mann (42) ... Read more
Golf Month
Golf Victoria