Women's Autumn Tournament

26 - 27 April 2017

Golf Victoria runs two Tournaments per year across regional Victoria in Autumn and Spring. The events are the most popular on the annual Tournament Calendar attracting fields of between 180 – 350 players.

Players at both Country Tournaments compete to win the Ruby McKenzie Trophy, named in the honour of one of Victoria’s greatest country golfers and former VLGU and Australian Golf Council member until her death in 1928. The ex-Women’s Golf Victoria office in Elsternwick was purchased through a bequest left by Ruby McKenzie for the VLGU, now Golf Victoria.

The Best 36 Hole Nett trophy is named after Vi Teesdale, a former Captain and President of Huntingdale Golf Club. Her expert knowledge of the rules of golf was the reason this trophy is named in her honour.

Honour Roll

Player Information

Date: Wednesday 26 - Thursday 27 April 2017
Venue: Ballarat & Midlands Golf Clubs
Format: 36-Hole Stroke
GA Handicap Limit: 35.4 at date of entry
Entry Fee: $80.00 (inc. GST)$65 if entering online
Inclusions: Lunch on both days
Entries Open: Monday 23 January 2017
Entries Close: 5:00pm on Friday 14 April 2017 or prior if a capacity field is reached

Event Organiser: Stephanie Wearne (Golf Events Officer)
E-mail: stephanie.wearne@golfvic.org.au
Phone: (03) 8545 6214

News & Results

Overall Leaderboards
Overall Results
Click for overall leaderboards
Change class according to competition.

Overall A Grade Results
Overall B Grade Results
C Grade Results

Photo Gallery

Thursday 27 April - Round 2

Wall 2017 Winner
Jane Wall (Barham), the winner of the 2017 Victorian Women's Autumn Tournament.

The closing round of the 2017 Victorian Women’s Autumn Tournament was contested today at the Ballarat Golf Club, in what can be described as typical Ballarat weather. The mercury reached a high of 9 degrees in the afternoon, and the players battled nearly all weather conditions possible across the day. While it may have been cold for the players, the competition in the final round of this year’s Autumn Tournament was set to be hot after close finishes in round one.

Jane Wall (Barham) has capitalised on her joint lead from the first round to win the 2017 Victorian Women’s Autumn Tournament. Wall claimed the Ruby McKenzie Trophy (best gross) with rounds of 76 (Midlands) & 73 (Ballarat) for a 36-hole total of 149. Jane outshone her co-leader and the remainder of the field by playing very consistent golf, finishing with a bogey free back 9 to post her 1-over 73 for today. Runner-up Jessica Pickwick (Kilmore) had a 2-under front 9 but it wasn’t enough to balance out the 5-over on the front, which helped Jane take the Ruby McKenzie title.

Rebecca Thomas (Leongatha) also had a great day on the course, returning a nett 70 today, combined with yesterday’s 73 (from a handicap of 5), giving her the best 36 hole nett and claiming the prestigious Vi Teesdale Trophy. Vicki Johnston (Warrnambool) and Leanne Ritchie (Lake Bolac) fell just shy of Thomas, their two round total of 146 was 3 shots more to take out second place.

In the B Grade championship, Riverside Golf Club’s Lynda Saunders finished victor in the gross section with a two round total of 193, which included an equal tournament low B grade gross score today of 92. Fiona Curram (Foster) claimed the 36-hole nett title for B grade, with scores of 79 and 74 off a 21 handicap. This win was by a single stroke margin from two locals, Ballarat member Sue Peters and Laurel Perrin from Buninyong.

In C grade it was Robyn Ballinger (Warrnambool) winning the gross firing two rounds of 105 for a 210 total. Ballinger was too good for her fellow competitors, also claiming the nett prize for her grade with a total score of 151, 4 better than second place Jan Baczynski (Trentham).

Both clubs were commended on hosting this year’s event and presenting their courses in fantastic condition.

Next year’s Autumn event will be played at Murray Downs on Monday 23-Tuesday 24 April.

Wednesday 26 April - Round 1

Day 1 Web 17
Debbie Gorin, Gemma Bastin, Beth Curram and Angela Widdison honing their short game.

Seasoned golfer Beth Preston (Warracknabeal) has set a fiery pace in the C Grade Championship, returning a gross score of 102 to create a 3 shot gap between herself and Warrnambool’s Robyn Ballinger. Things are closer in the nett section between the two, sitting tied in first position with nett scores of 75, only giving themselves a one shot margin over Helen Jennings (Shepparton).

In B Grade, Sue Sidebottom (Ballarat) has taken the lead in the gross and a quarter share of first position in the nett section, after she returned a gross score of 97, and with a handicap of 19 she shares the nett 78 lead with Denise Doolan (Kooringal), Amanda Bestwick (Trentham) and Elizabeth Storm (Barham).

The A grade nett championship & Vi Teesdale (Nett) trophy is led by Lake Bolac member Leanne Ritchie, who finished with a fantastic nett round of 72 from a daily handicap of 16. Ritchie’s round was the best overall nett score from all 3 fields, but only takes a one shot lead into tomorrow’s round over Rebecca Thomas (Leongatha), who scored a nett 73 from a daily handicap of 5.

The race for the perpetual Ruby McKenzie trophy sees a well-respected Jessica Pickwick (Kilmore) and a very steady Jane Wall (Barham) take a shared lead into round 2. The pair shot fantastic 3 over par 76’s today, which is great golf considering what weather was served up. Rebecca Thomas is only 2 shots behind the leaders and will be looking to make her move on both trophies tomorrow.

The final round sees all players move onto Ballarat Golf Club for the final round. The scene is set for a close finish in all grade categories.

24 November 2017
Athletes from Special Olympics Australia and Deaf Golf Australia participated in a massive day of golf yesterday. Read more
23 November 2017
The first round of the Moyne Senior Classic kicked off today with an impressive field at the picturesque Port Fairy Golf Links. Players enjoyed a ... Read more
24 November 2017
CHALAMBAR ARARAT: Stableford Black: A: W Seadon (13) 42. B: A Mahoney (16) 41. C: L Grice (18) 41. D: N Clark (19) 40. Read more
Golf Victoria