Aussie juniors in box seat in Asia

Grace Kim and Jed Morgan
Grace Kim and Jed Morgan high-five after another birdie in foursomes today in Hong Kong. Picture: MATT CUTLER

Outstanding Australian prospects Jed Morgan and Grace Kim have put themselves right in the running to win the Asia Pacific Junior Championship in Hong Kong.

After a handy 65 in Wednesday's opening fourball competition, the pair combined absolutely brilliantly again today to carve out another five-under 65 - only this time in the potentially tricky foursomes format.

Their 10-under total enabled them to scythe through the field and grab a one-shot lead with just the individual stroke play session to come tomorrow.

The second Australian team of youngsters Kay Bannan and Nathan Page battled for an 82 today to sit 29th, but both continue to learn plenty in their first trip in Australian colours.

Morgan, of Queensland, whose individual win at the corresponding event in Taiwan last year kickstarted a remarkable 12-month run,  was clearly excited about his union with Kim.

"We get on great and I think that helps us play well, it’s good fun," Morgan beamed of the Sydney-based Australian Junior champion.

"We just played so steady, it was unbelievable. We never put each other in trouble."

Remarkably in oppressive heat and humidity, Morgan and Kim hit 17 of 18 greens, missing only the par-three 8th by less than a metre, but still making an easy par.

The young team's 65 was today's best by a whopping three strokes with only five teams breaking par in the alternate shot format.

It left the top Aussie team with a one-shot cushion over Japan's second team of Yuki Ikeda and Yuka Yasuda, but four shots clear of the top teams of both Japan and Hong Kong.


18 January 2018
Follow the Australian Amateur Championship match play phase live from the Lake Karrinyup Golf Club in Perth. Read more
18 January 2018
World-renowned Taiwanese body Swinging Skirts Golf Foundation is the presenting sponsor for the Australian Amateur Championships for the third ... Read more
18 January 2018
TORQUAY: Men: Stableford: 4B: D McPhail (6) G Bradley (16) 49 cb. Resort: P Fox (16) T Lyons (28) 48 cb. Visitor: M Scarlett (Creswick 28) C Perry ... Read more
Golf Victoria