Claney claims Yarra Yarra title

Winners 2016 Yarra Yarra SA
Dave Berg & Gordon Claney

Yarra Yarra was once again the first of six August Senior Amateur events across the Melbourne Sandbelt. 66 players teed it up in the 2016 Yarra Yarra ‘Ray Barned’ Senior Amateur, in what was cold August weather.

Gordon Claney (Kingston Heath) fired the lowest round (77,+5) to claim the Yarra Yarra ‘Ray Barned’ Senior Amateur, which is named after the late Ray Barned.

It has been almost 2 years since the Victorian golfing community were saddened by the passing of Ray Barned who contributed greatly to the game. Ray was aformer Captain of the Yarra Yarra Golf Club and was elected to the VGA Council in 1994 and made a significant contribution over that time to Victorian Golf particularly in areas of the Association’s Match Program; Senior Golf; Junior Development; Rules; Handicapping and Course Rating. He was elected as VGA Vice-President in 2002 and served for three years in this role.

Claney’s round consisted of two solid birdies on holes 14 & 18. Runner up for 2016 was regular, and National member, John Wheeler.

In the nett, it was Dave Berg from Lakes Entrance who stayed the most persistent to card a nett score of 73.

Players enjoyed impressive hospitality from the Yarra Yarra Golf Club and enjoyed a world class golf course. Yarra Yarra is also set to hold the Victorian Boys & Girls Championship from 20-23 September along with the Australian Amateur in January 2017.

Kingston Heath awaits a full field tomorrow afternoon for the 2016 Kingston Heath Senior Amateur, with play scheduled to start at 12 noon.

For all results from today’s event at Yarra Yarra, please click here

21 January 2018
Follow the Sunday finals of the Australian Amateur Championship live from the Lake Karrinyup Golf Club in Perth. Read more
20 January 2018
David Micheluzzi has been the dominant force at Lake Karrinyup this week – and he’s hoping it will last one more day at the Australian Amateur ... Read more
19 January 2018
CHURCHILL WAVERLEY: Mxd: Par: Churchill Park: S Chea (12) 5 up. 9-hole: P Etheredge (21) 3 up cb. I Wheeler (27) 3 up. Stableford: Waverley: C Morgan ... Read more
Golf Victoria