Golf the game for everyone

Empower Golf - Golf Month

October 2017 will once again demonstrate that golf is the most inclusive game of all, with 20 clubs and facilities around the country staging ‘come-and-try’ sessions for people with a disability as part of Golf Month thanks to Empower Golf.

Empower Golf creates opportunities for people of all abilities to start playing or return to golf and its series of Golf Month sessions begins at the stunning Long Reef Golf Club on Sydney’s Northern Beaches on Wednesday 4 October.

All you have to do is get to the sessions. Empower Golf provides all the equipment required, including clubs, gripping solutions and the OttoBock Paragolfer, an all-terrain mobility device that assists people to stand up and play golf.

These sessions are free and run by PGA professionals, further highlighting that golf is an inclusive sport by design, with participants able to play socially or competitively alongside people of all ages and abilities.

The full list of sessions is below. Places can be booked at www.golfmonth.com.au or at www.empowergolf.com.au/events-2.  

Alternatively, if you’re connected to a golf club or facility and would like to learn more about becoming a fully inclusive club, please visit www.golf.org.au/inclusion or contact National Inclusion Manager Christian Hamilton via email at christianh@golf.org.au.

Empower Golf: Golf Month 2017 – ‘Come-and-try’ sessions for people with a disability

NSW

  • Long Reef GC, Sydney: Wednesday 4 October, 1pm - 3pm
  • Muirfield GC, North Rocks: Friday 6 October, 1pm - 4pm
  • The Ridge GC, Barden Ridge: Monday 9 October, 1pm - 4pm
  • Long Reef GC, Sydney: Wednesday 11 October, 1pm - 3pm
  • Port Kembla GC, Wollongong: Thursday 12 October, 1pm - 4pm (inaugural)
  • Shelly Beach GC, Shelly Beach: Friday 13 October, 1pm - 4pm
  • North Turramurra GC, North Turramurra: Monday 16 October, 1pm - 4pm
  • Long Reef GC, Sydney: Wednesday 18 October, 1pm - 3pm
  • Bathurst Driving Range, Bathurst: Thursday, 19 October, 1pm - 3pm - Inaugural
  • Orange Ex-Services Country Club, Orange: Friday, 20 October, 10am - 12pm
  • Long Reef GC, Sydney - Wednesday, 25 October, 1pm - 3pm
  • Moore Park GC, Sydney - Thursday, 26 October, 1pm - 4pm

PLUS: Fully Inclusive Tournament at Long Reef GC, Sydney: Tuesday, 17 October
 

QLD

  • Half Moon Bay GC, Cairns: Sunday 1 October, 4pm - 5pm
  • Parkwood GC, Parkwood: Thursday 5 October, 10am - 1pm

WA

  • Point Walter GC, Bicton: Wednesday 4 October, 10am - 12pm
  • Carramar GC, Carramar: Thursday 12 October, 10am - 12pm
  • Hillview GC, Maida Vale: Thursday 26 October, 10am - 12pm

VIC

  • Sandhurst GC, Sandhurst: Friday, 27 October, 10am - 1pm
17 November 2017
Australia's Sarah Jane Smith has franked a consistent year by leaping to the lead in the LPGA Tour's season finale, the CME Group Championship in ... Read more
17 November 2017
Australia's Scott Hend is just a shot from the lead in the European Tour's season-ending Dubai World Championship after an opening 66. Read more
18 November 2017
COMMONWEALTH: Women: Stableford: A Alston (11) 37. Read more
MyGolf
Golf Victoria