History repeats at Bendigo Senior Amateur

Bendigo Winners
L-R Ian Frost, Lyn Bennett, Glenys Ferguson & Matt Ferguson

Ian Frost has claimed back to back Bendigo Senior Amateur titles at the conclusion of the final round at Bendigo GC this morning.  Favorable scoring conditions greeted the field with the layout remaining soft whilst only a light breeze emerged as the day progressed.  

The Bendigo member closed with a two under par round of 70 to win by two strokes. It was a case of history repeating, with overnight leader and 2015 Bendigo Senior Amateur runner-up Ken O’Brien (Rossdale) finishing second to Frost again as was the case at last year’s event. 

In the Men’s nett championship, interstate visitor Matt Ferguson took a liking to the Bendigo layout finishing with a blistering two round nett total of 139. In second place was local James Dalton (Bendigo) who finished runner-up with 144 c/b.

In the Women’s nett championship, Lyn Bennett (Gosnells) took top honours with a two round total of 70 stableford points, in second place was Kooringal’s Debbie Gorin. Glenys Ferguson (Waneroo) ensured three of the four available major prizes were taken home by West Australian visitors taking out the Women’s Bendigo Senior Amateur crown with 55 gross stableford points. Heather Harley (Kooringal) finished runner-up with 52 points.

The next event on the Golf Victoria senior calendar is the much anticipated Victorian Men’s and Women’s Senior Amateur being held at Coomealla and Riverside GC’s in Mildura, entries for this event are still available via the tournament homepage.

To view full results, click here.    

24 June 2018
A month after her first win for the LPGA Tour season, Australia’s Minjee Lee is chasing another one hard in Arizona. Read more
23 June 2018
Australians are prominent in tournaments across the world today, headed by Scott Hend at the BMW International in Germany. Read more
22 June 2018
ANGLESEA: Women: Stroke: Foursome: S McGibbony (32) J Power (32) 74. Read more
Golf Victoria