Soo and Michel 2015 Ranking Champions

Julienne Soo and Kyle Michel

Shepparton’s Kyle Michel has won the 2015 Ivo Whitton Trophy while Julienne Soo from Woodlands has won the 2015 Champions Trophy.

19-year-old Michel took out the Men’s Ivo Whitton with a scoring average of 66.375 over 54 rounds played while Soo was victorious in the Women’s Champions Trophy with a scoring average of 65.666 from 32 rounds played.

Newly crowned Men’s Victorian Amateur Champion, Cameron John from the Commonwealth Golf Club played 40 Ivo Whitton rounds and finished in second place with a score of 67.75 while Metropolitan’s Blake Collyer was third with an average of 68.5 from 32 rounds.

The runner-up in the women’s Champions Trophy was Kono Matsumoto from Victoria with an average of 68.833 from 36 rounds played while Metropolitan’s Grace Daniel was third with an average of 69.166 from 32 rounds.

The Ivo Whitton victory concluded a successful 2015 for Michel that saw extremely consistent performances throughout the year. Michel amassed multiple top-10’s and won the Traralgon Classic, Mooroopna Masters, Shepparton Open and 72-hole Dunes Medal on his way to claiming the trophy. He also won the 2015 Men’s Victorian Country Championship and the Queensland Men’s Stroke Play Championship.

As winner of the Ivo Whitton, Michel has also earned an amateur exemption into the starting field for the 2016 Oates Victorian Open to be played at 13th Beach Golf Links in Barwon Heads from February 4 – 7.

Whilst being in the United States on the first year of a College Scholarship at Oklahoma University, 18-year-old Soo still found the time to compile impressive results in the early part of 2015 including wins at the Boroondara Cup, Elvie Whiteside (Tasmania), New South Wales Strokeplay (NSW), and top-10 finishes at the Riversdale Cup, Joan Fisher Plate and the Women’s Lake Macquarie (NSW).

The Ivo Whitton Trophy is named after the great Victorian amateur, Ivo Whitton who won 5 Australian Open Championships (1912, 1913, 1926, 1929 and 1931); 2 Australian Amateur Championships (1922 and 1923) and 5 Victorian Amateur Championships (1919, 1920, 1922, 1923 and 1924).

The former Victorian Golf Association introduced the Ivo Whitton Trophy in 1960 for the lowest average stroke score in designated tournaments held each year.  The inaugural winner was Mr. Hartley with an average of 72.72 from 32 rounds.  He went on to take the trophy 12 times out of the first 18 years of the competition.

The trophy has lived up to all expectations with the honour roll reflecting a who’s who of Victorian Men’s Golf including Michael Clayton (1978 and 1980); Peter Sweeney (1981); John Lindsay (1984); Brad Hughes (1987); Robert Allenby (1990 and 1991); Stephen Allan (1994), Geoff Ogilvy (1995 and 1997) and Marcus Fraser (1999).

The Women’s Champions Trophy was introduced in 2012 as an equivalent Ivo Whitton competition for women and as a continuation of the former Women’s Average and Ranking Trophy.

A schedule of 33 events formed part of the Trophy in 2015 including traditionally conducted women’s events such as the Women’s Autumn and Spring Country Tournaments as well as a number of existing Ivo Whitton events that have introduced women’s sections to provide weekend competition opportunities.

Soo has now won the Trophy for a second time, having taken out the title in 2013. The other previous winners of the Women’s Champions Trophy have been Metropolitan duo, Jo Charlton in 2014 and Su Oh in 2012.

Click here for 2015 final Ivo Whitton standings.

Click here for 2015 final Champions Trophy standings. 

Golf Month
24 September 2018
The leaderboards for the Victorian Boys and Girls Championships are tight at the top after round 1 at Moonah Links Golf Club today. Read more
24 September 2018
The growing impact of the Karrie Webb Series is having a profound impact on our emerging female golfers ... and the legend herself couldn't be ... Read more
24 September 2018
BAIRNSDALE: Mxd: Stableford: T Archibald (32) 38. C Lambert (14) 37. Read more
Golf Victoria