Victorian pennant champions crowned

2016 Golf Victoria Pennant Div 1 Men & Women Metropolitan and Victoria

Full Men's Results

Full Women's Results

Full Colts Results

Flag Photos

Metropolitan has won Men’s Division 1 while Victoria has taken out Women’s Division 1 following the 2016 Pennant finals played at the Spring Valley Golf Club on Sunday 22 May.

On a blustery Melbourne autumn day Metropolitan won its first Division 1 Men’s title since 1987 by defeating Royal Melbourne four matches to three.  

In the finale to the 117th Golf Victoria Pennant season, Metropolitan gained the early ascendency with an eight and six win courtesy of spearhead and Victorian Men’s State Team player, David Micheluzzi over Royal Melbourne’s Darcy Brereton. Around the narrow Spring Valley layout, Micheluzzi’s steady par golf in testing conditions gave his club the perfect start.

No. 7 Nick Brown then maintained the momentum with a three and one victory against Aaron Southern before No. 6 Aiden Didone took Metropolitan within one match of the title with a two and one win over Royal Melbourne’s Paul Little, who’d enjoyed an undefeated season heading into the final.

However, having not won a Division 1 title since 1931, Royal Melbourne fought back with victories to No. 2 Matias Sanchez over Metropolitan captain Matt Roberson and Will Heffernan against Metropolitan’s No. 3 Lukas Michel to close the margin.

The two remaining matches of the final were nail-biting affairs with Royal Melbourne No. 4 James McMillan overcoming a three-hole deficit after 11 holes to win on the 18th. While the win secured Royal Melbourne a third match, Metropolitan No. 5 Blake Collyer held off a late comeback from opponent Josh Hetherington to win the crucial deciding match on the last to secure Metropolitan’s sixth Division 1 title over the duration of the competition.

In the 2016 Division 1 Women’s final, Victoria atoned for last year’s final defeat at the hands of Huntingdale by soundly accounting for Commonwealth by five matches to two.

Undefeated throughout the 2016 Division 1 Women’s season, Victoria held sway throughout the final. While No. 7 player Evelyn Clark went down to Commonwealth’s Laura Griffin three and one in the opening match, strong wins to Jesika Clark, Sue Wooster and Gabriela Ruffels soon gave Victoria a healthy lead.

When No. 3 Kono Matsumoto fought back from a two-hole deficit through 12 holes to win five holes in a row for a three and one victory over Commonwealth’s Joanna Flaherty, the Women’s Division 1 title went to Victoria for the 13th time since the competition was first formally played in 1910.

Commonwealth No. 2 Sheradyn Johnson won the club’s second match for the day with a three and one victory over Victorian Women’s State Team Member, Stephanie Bunque before Victoria No. 1 Olivia Kline concluded the emphatic performance with a two-hole win over talented Commonwealth junior and Victorian Girls’ Team Captain, Alexandra Hilliard.

A total of 24 out of the 48 competing clubs were represented in the 2016 GV Pennant finals across six Men’s divisions, five Women’s divisions and six Colts divisions. As part of Golf Victoria’s ongoing policy of concurrently staging Men’s; Women’s and Colts finals, contests were played at four host venues in Spring Valley, Riversdale, The Heritage and Heidelberg Golf Clubs.

The 2016 finals again saw clubs with multiple teams in finals scheduled at the same venue to allow club members to support all competitors. Of the eleven clubs who had the chance of taking out multiple flags, Metropolitan, Huntingdale, The Heritage and new GV Member Club Berwick-Montuna were ultimately successful with dual victories.

The 2016 Men’s Pennant Finals saw the remaining Divisions won by Peninsula-Kingswood (Division 2); Rossdale (Div 3); Huntingdale (Div 4); Eastwood (Div 5) and Berwick-Montuna (Div 6). Winners of Women’s Pennant Finals were Heidelberg (Division 2); Rosanna (Division 3); The Heritage (Division 4) and Eastern (Division 5).

Metropolitan completed a memorable day when it also took out the Division 1 Colts Final by defeating Victoria three matches to two. The remaining Colts finals were won by Royal Melbourne (Division 2); Huntingdale (Division 3); The Heritage (Division 4); Cheltenham (Division 5) and Berwick-Montuna (Division 6).  

Every winning team will have stories to tell in the coming weeks as the victors celebrate the conclusion of Australia’s oldest and arguably best club team competition involving close to 800 players over the eight week season.

Golf Month
26 September 2018
On Episode 62, Aussie young gun Brett Coletta sits in as we cover Lucas Herbert, Cam Davis, Curtis Luck, Michelle Watts, this week's Ryder Cup... and ... Read more
25 September 2018
June Song and Daniel Gill lead their respective fields at the 2018 Victorian Boys and Girls Championships after 36 holes at Moonah Links. Read more
25 September 2018
BARHAM: Medley: Stableford: 9-hole: S Macmillan (30) 22. Read more
Golf Victoria