Walker & Fan take out Traralgon

Traralgon Winner
L-R: Nick McQualter, Toby Walker, Alice Fan & Sheradyn Johnson

Toby Walker and Alice Fan have punched their tickets into the 2018 Oates Vic Open after their title wins at the Traralgon Classic.

Fan from Riversdale posted a new course record of four under par 67 to win by a mere shot from overnight leader Kay Bannan from Southern. Both players were neck and neck through the front nine, with Fan charging home with 3 birdies for a 54-hole total of 220 to edge ahead of Bannan on 221. Taking home the women’s third place trophy was Metropolitan’s India Matthews who equalled the previous course record of 70 set by Sheradyn Johnson on Friday. Johnson was the best in the women’s nett field. The 1 marker from Commonwealth finished on a 54-hole nett total of 220, with Victoria member Jesika Clark in runner-up position on nett 222.

Toby Walker (Heidelberg) has wrapped up the tournament in style and capitalised on his joint overnight lead to take out the men’s title. Walker finished strong today with a one-under par round 71 to beat the field by three shots on a 54-hole total of 215. Closely following were Eastwood’s Darren Makin and George Worrall from Kingston Heath, both tying on 218. Nick McQualter was the nett champion by a single stroke. The Huntingdale member was penalised 2 stroke this morning for missing his tee time, but was not phased as he posted a nett 71 for a total of 211. Churchill Park’s Marama-O-Uia was a very excited runner-up in the men’s nett on 215.

Walker and Fan will now head down to 13th Beach Golf Links to prepare for the 2018 Oates Vic Open which starts this Thursday. Big thank you to Traralgon Golf Club and all their staff, volunteers and sponsors who are to be commended on the hospitality which has been provided over the past 3 days.

Click here for full results and photos. 

23 May 2018
#44 The great course ranking debate Read more
22 May 2018
As part of National Volunteers Week, Golf Victoria and 13th Beach were again pleased to stage the annual appreciation day on Tuesday 22 May for close ... Read more
23 May 2018
YARRAWONGA MULWALA VETERANS: Men: Par: 9-hole: K Dyer (17) 2 up. F Reece (18) 1 up. Read more
Golf Victoria