Wheeler and Harley the ones to catch at Cranbourne

Cranbourne Day 1 web

Play began under blue skies at Cranbourne Golf Club for Day 1 of the 2018 Cranbourne Senior Amateur. Slick greens and blustery conditions made for difficult scoring as both men and women battled to tame the beautifully presented course.

John Wheeler (The National) leads the Men’s Gross section after Day 1 with a hard fought 76. Closely behind is the in-form player on the senior tour, Ian McCleary, who was the next best with a 5-over par round of 77.  The winner of both the Yarra Courses and Kooringal Senior events will be looking for his third win of the year. A further shot back is a host of players including Ross Percy (Cobram-Barooga), Ken O’Brien (Rossdale), John Kelly (Metropolitan) and Greg Ebinger (Spring Valley). With so many players close to the lead, the tournament is set up for a thrilling finish tomorrow.

In the Men’s nett section, local knowledge proved vital as Cranbourne member John Rucinski takes a 2-shot lead after his nett 69 was the best for the day. Phil Nunn made his trip from Tocumwal worthwhile as he posted the next best with a 71. Peter Takle (Penisula-Kingswood) and Gary House (Sanctuary Lakes) are tied for third with 74.

The Women’s scratch stableford sees Heather Harley (Kooringal) leading the way with 23 points closely followed by Helen Drake (Dorset) with 19. Tied for third is Susan Lush (Gardiners Run) and Kay Barcelon (Penisula-Kingswood) on 16 points.

The Women’s Stableford is proving to be a close battle with scratch stableford leader Heather Harley tying Elizabeth Alston (Winchelsea) on 29 points. Helen Drake is only a shot back and will be looking to chase them down tomorrow morning.

Round 2 will be a shot gun start from 8:00am. For results, photos and Round 2 draw please click here.

Golf Month
22 September 2018
On different sides of the world, two young Australians continued to edge toward significant career moments today. Curtis Luck and Lucas Herbert, 22, ... Read more
21 September 2018
Helen Pascoe (Buninyong) & Marian McKenzie have been crowned the Ruby McKenzie and Vi Teesdale champions respectively for 2018 Read more
20 September 2018
ANGLESEA: Stableford: A: J Mooney (8) 39 cb. B: C Jarratt (17) 38. C: B Gibbons (25) 36. Read more
Golf Victoria