Victorian Amateur Championships

2016 Vic Am Champions
L-R: Dylan Perry (The Vintage, NSW) & Alizza Hetherington (Royal Melbourne)

The Victorian Men’s & Women’s Amateur Championships are the most prestigious amateur events on the Golf Victoria’s calendar. First played in 1894 (Women) & 1899 (Men), both Championships are well over a century old.

The Championships are played in two stages. First Stage consists of 72 holes stroke play which is played in conjunction with the Port Phillip Open Amateur. The top 32 men and 16 women will then advance to the match-play knockout component (Second Stage).

The Victorian Amateur qualifying rounds have been held as part of the Port Phillip Amateur since 2008 for men and 2012 for women while this is the fifth year that the Men’s and Women’s Victorian Amateur match play rounds have been contested concurrently.

Victorian Men's Amateur Championship

The 2017 Championship represents 117 years since the inaugural title and is the 107th time the event has been contested.

The Men’s event has now produced 68 separate winners including players such as Ivo Whitton, Harry Williams, five time British Open Champion Peter Thomson; Australia’s first British Amateur Champion Doug Bachli; founder of the Cobra Golf Company Tom Crow and noted professionals Mike Clayton, Robert Allenby, Stuart Appleby, Geoff Ogilvy, Aaron Baddeley and Marcus Fraser.

Honour Roll

Victorian Women’s Amateur Championship

The first event, played in 1894, was won by Eveline McKenzie. Eveline was also the state champion in 1895, 1896 and 1898. In its formative years, this Championship also carried with it the Championship of Australia. But on the formation of the Australian Golf Union, the two events became separate.

The women’s event boast winners such as Mona MacLeod, Susie & Shirley Tolhurst, Burtta Cheney, Margaret Masters, Sandra McCaw, Lindy Goggin, Jane Lock, Louise Briers, Jane Crafter, Stacey Keating and more recently Su-Hyun Oh.

Honour Roll

Player Information

Eligibility: Top 32 Men & 16 Women from the 2017 Port Phillip Open Amateur

The 2017 Victorian Men's and Women's Amateur Championships will be played from Monday 11 to Wednesday 13 December at Kingston Heath Golf Club and Commonwealth Golf Club.

17 November 2017
Australia's Sarah Jane Smith has franked a consistent year by leaping to the lead in the LPGA Tour's season finale, the CME Group Championship in ... Read more
17 November 2017
Australia's Scott Hend is just a shot from the lead in the European Tour's season-ending Dubai World Championship after an opening 66. Read more
18 November 2017
COMMONWEALTH: Women: Stableford: A Alston (11) 37. Read more
Golf Victoria